Wednesday

It’s all about keeping warm… boy has it been frigid in the Garden City recently. Wool, wool and more wool.

20130529-211324.jpg
Luckily my classroom is toasty warm but today I’m still wearing a few merino layers underneath, just in case. This jacket is one of my favourite jackets of all time. I inherited it years and years ago from a stylish great aunt and about every 5 years I bring it out and give it another go round.

20130529-211705.jpg
It’s a lovely warm brown wool, nipped in at the waist, with a soft leather collar, leather buttons and bound leather buttonholes. I’m certain my stylish great aunt would have bought it from Ballantynes in the early 70’s. She lived in the country and bought most of her clothes there on account. I remember her as always being perfectly made-up and impeccably dressed, despite living and working on the family sheep station. Today I’m wearing her jacket with a pair of tailored Jigsaw pants and black ankle boots. Jewellery is a simple cameo brooch.

20130529-212230.jpg
And accessorized with my favourite new bag. I had something similar saved on Pinterest so I made my own version in fabrics I had at home including a thrifted green woollen, some chintz from the Red Cross and a long brown leather belt. The cascade of flowers with vintage buttons was great fun to make.

20130529-212904.jpg
It’s widely admired wherever it goes.

1 Comment

Filed under Wardrobe Wednesday

One response to “Wednesday

  1. Definitely a quality jacket. I I can see why you kept it! The tartan with the flowers is a fun look.

Leave a Reply

