Finish-Off Friday.

Thursday and Friday were a bit manic as everyone tried to get their last project finished. But it was worth it… there were some real crackers.

20130518-174552.jpg
I have 2 basic beanies which the students get in their Year 8 Pattern Pack. They are challenged to modify one of them to make an original hat which they would wear. Jay came up with the strawberry idea and a few people copied…

20130518-175216.jpg
This is the second beanie pattern and Ada used it to make a penguin guy I’d never heard of. She grew 3 inches when someone asked her at party where she’d bought it.

20130518-175349.jpg
Stef modified one of the patterns to make Cat in the Hat stripes. You can see it in 2 colour ways because its a fully reversible hat. Named The Stefacino in her honour.

20130518-180209.jpg
Frosty needs no introduction really. Smile I said while I was taking the photo. I’m trying he said from under a drift of white.

20130518-180331.jpg
This unicorn quickly became famous all over school… she really gets around. I managed to snap a picture as she scooted past my window.
And just in case you think it’s all sweetness and light:

20130518-180458.jpg
“Mrs Smythe, have you ever majorly
screwed up anyone’s work” asked Kay as I was overlocking the final seam on her One Direction beanie.
“Only the once” I replied “and then I fixed it up so you couldn’t tell.”
“That’s nice of you” she said as she took the completed beanie, folded the band over and put it on her head. There was a collective gasp from the class as they saw at the same instant that the words on her band were upside down. And then a look of horror from Kay as she realised Mrs Smythe had just screwed up a second project. While she was talking about screwing up the first. Oh the irony.

“Hand me that seam ripper would you?” I said.

2 Comments

Filed under School, Sewing

2 responses to “Finish-Off Friday.

  1. Classic! Teachers are not perfect after all! Lesson learnt! Love those hats. I am sure they will get lots if use in the coming weeks.

  2. So much talent and imagination! My son still wears his sweatshirt he made in Year 8….he’s so proud of it and hose kids will wear those beanies til they are threadbare.

Leave a Reply

