Wednesday

One day of school and then we have a break. Magic! I dressed for mucking around outside today. The older kids were working so we took the little boys and hit a few local parks. In honour of Waitangi Day, the photos were taken in our taonga corner – on the wall behind me is a family patu and the flax kete it sometimes lives in, paintings by local artists and four ceramic tiles the kids chose for our 20th wedding anniversary.

20130206-170933.jpg
The taonga I wear was designed by my family and carved by a friend who has greenstone in his river. I usually wear it with the smooth polished side out but today I’ve turned it over because carved on the inside is te korero pono āku tamariki – the story of my children. Each one is represented by a different frond on the same fernleaf.

20130206-175028.jpg
Goodness – everything I’m wearing is thrifted. I bought the hat from SaveMart so I could use it as a pattern at school. Some of my more confident boys like to make these combat-style caps. Red singlet and colorful Principals top also from SaveMart – oh, and the Glassons pants too. I found the red shoes a few years ago at the Red Cross and they’re the most comfy shoes I have.

20130206-175102.jpg
It was a lovely sunny day (eventually!) and there was plenty of geocaching around local points of interest. It was great to get out and about.

2 Comments

Filed under Wardrobe Wednesday

2 responses to “Wednesday

  1. love the colours and the meanings in your taonga and the tiles are awesome too

  2. Looks like you had a great Waitangi day. I love your taonga and its story.

Leave a Reply

