Doreen

There is a lovely little hospice shop near where we live that is well-stocked with stylish things. The first time I ever went in there, Doreen said chattily to me “Gosh you must have trouble finding pants to fit!” I was a bit taken aback with that conversation opener but of course, she was right. I’m tall and most pants leave my ankles on show. I recovered quickly when she said ” I have a box out back you might like to fossick in!”

20130116-100305.jpg

So fossick I did, finding 3 pairs that fit perfectly including these faded jeans. She nattered away, asking questions about what I did for a job, my favourite colours and which designers I liked. A groovy striped hoodie was suddenly thrust through the changing room curtain. “What do you think of that?” asked Doreen. I actually loved it. I love the way the thin stripes kind-of blend together at my elbows and some of my other crinkly bits to make patches of red. And it’s so comfy.
20130116-100505.jpg

She came back a few minutes later with two Vamp tops that were the right mix of casual and clever. Then a silky jacket that was unusual but in my favourite colour and perfect for the odd formal school occasion. It was the start of a beautiful relationship. Doreen keeps a box out the back which she pops long- legged pants into plus the odd thing she thinks I might like. And I call in every week or so to ooh and aah over her cleverness and hand over some money to our local hospice shop. Everybody wins.

Jeans: Hospice shop
Striped hoodie: Hospice shop
Red belt: Sallies
Red shoes: Sallies
Vintage cosmetics case: Sallies

13 Comments

Filed under Wardrobe Wednesday

13 responses to “Doreen

  1. oh you look gorgeous I love this ensemble and I want a Doreen in my life! Especially love the way you’ve accessorised it all topping off with that fab bag/case. Looking hot lady! Do link in :o)

    • Thanks Miriam, I felt really good swanning around town today! The little case usually sits on my dressing table filled with necklaces but today I took it for a walk 🙂

  2. Doreen sounds like an absolute gem! Love the hoodie – red and stripes are two of my very favourite things 🙂

  3. Doreen sounds like she has a smart eye for what suits you – like your own personal stylist!!! Lucky you – and the jeans and top look super on you…J

    • Those ladies at the Hospice shop seem to have so much fun – there’s usually as many of them as there are customers. Today when I went in, one of them was wafting around the shop in a rabbit fur jacket someone had donated. They get to play dress-ups all day!

  4. Doreen sounds like a keeper! I must admit, I don’t frequent the Hospice Shop but probably should more often judging by your success.

  5. CC

    Love this outfit and what a treasure! 😉

  6. I want to go to this shop and meet Doreen now! It’s like having a personal shopper, sort of. 🙂 And obviously she’s good at it, because you look good!

    Also, I was previously unaware of the word ‘fossick’ so thank you for that. 🙂

  7. katie

    ohmygosh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! how do you look so good post-kids? loving the outfits x

Leave a Reply

