An Advent Plan

Over the years we’ve had all sorts of advent calendars and the ones I like best are the ones you can fill with your own surprises. Trouble is, since I’m always the one who is filling them with surprises, I never get any. Surprises. So this year I’ve come up with a cunning plan.

I saw this idea on Pinterest and thought it looked fun but I don’t have an artfully distressed ladder and I can’t justify 25 shiny metal buckets so meet Plan B.

20121121-225906.jpg There will be a good old garden variety ladder and I’ve been collecting baked bean and fruit salad tins. James has chosen the pastel tissue paper which will eventually be cunningly scrunched and found some teeny clips to match. Sophie printed the numbers onto recycled paper and cut them out. We’re almost ready to go.

Now for the cunning plan. Everyone gets 3 tins each to fill with little somethings. Nibbles, knick knacks, toys, trinkets, vouchers, coupons, jokes, poems, letters, photos, handmade, homemade, heartfelt, serious, silly – I don’t really mind so long as there is a surprise in there every morning for me. It used to be enough to see the joy on the kids’ faces as they opened up a new day but this year I really want to join in. And 6 kids times 24 days is a lot of somethings to provide if you’re doing all the surprising.

I’ll only know what’s in 3 tins. I’m excited!

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Making

One response to “An Advent Plan

  1. I like your version, a good way to get everyone involved.

Leave a Reply

