Lifelong Learners.

One of our lovely young teachers at school crochets the cutest little monsters. The kids begged to know how so she set up a lunchtime crochet club. It’s on a Friday so as not to clash with Quilt Club. Anyone welcome.

20120731-134106.jpg

I knew she was having success when an irate teacher accused me of encouraging irresponsible behaviour during maths time. He had discovered Taylor, fractions abandoned, crocheting under her desk. Much as I wished it was my fault, I had to shift blame because crochet is something I’ve never been able to do.

20120731-134143.jpg

“But it’s easy,” said Taylor. “I could show you how.” So I joined the Friday Crochet Club and teacher became student as Taylor patiently looped the thread around my fingers and checked my tension. We spent a happy hour making chains. The next week, when she was satisfied with my stitches, she guided me through single crochet and then double. I even worked out the turning chain by myself.

20120731-140527.jpg

It doesn’t look like much and I’m still a long way from cute little monsters but my pile of successful stitches is growing. My teacher quite enjoys critiquing my progress. And I hope I’ve shown her that the life-long-learning we spout on about at school doesn’t just apply to students.

1 Comment

Filed under Making, School

One response to “Lifelong Learners.

  1. Evil Gym Mom

    Too cool…. we have several books of crochet monsters etc and have often thought of your students when I see them on the shelf 🙂

Leave a Reply

