Holiday Wednesday.

I have a large collection of fabric. It fills the cupboards at home and overflows into my classroom where my Year 8s make short work of it if I’m in a sharing mood. I decided about a month ago that I would take my favourite vintage pieces and sew them into dresses for the summer. Dresses that are not too hard to make and very easy to wear. Well it seems I’ve missed the boat:

Dresses have already been rolled over! How did I not know this? It’s just as well I don’t really care what The Press fashion writers think I should and shouldn’t wear this summer because in beween dress rehearsals and costume changes, I cut out 5 dresses to sew over the holidays. And then today I went shopping in Rangiora with a good friend and came home with ideas for another 3. No bouquets for The Press fashion writers.

This is my first holiday summer dress. It’s made from a piece of swishy vintage fabric which I’m pretty sure is rayon. I used Kwik Sew 3682 and made View A without the sleeves. The skirt is calf length because I had enough fabric to make it that way. Anything calf length has probably been rolled too but I really wanted those lovely pleats swirling around my legs. I found the perfect pink cardigan in Rangiora which exactly matched the pink rayon flowers. Perfect excuse for another ladies lunch next week.

10 Comments

Filed under Sewing, Summer, Thrifting

10 responses to “Holiday Wednesday.

  1. Evil Gym Mom

    you’re on a roll!! way to go 🙂 You must ladies lunch when Liz comes to stay… OMG that’s next week! She’s have a good idea whether that’s rayon or not. My dad would want to do a burn test to be sure…

    • Floss

      I burned it 🙂

      • Evil Gym Mom

        LOL! Hey – Liz is looking forward to seeing you Friday. I gave her something to bring down to Sophie from us…do you have a glue gun?? And speaking of fabric: guess who just got herself a new job – at a quilt fabric distributors no less!! 🙂

  2. Can dresses really go out of fashion? That fabric looks lovely.

  3. Pingback: Sifting Through the Dross. | Paradise Lost

  4. This piece of writing is actually a fastidious one it helps
    new net people, who are wishing for blogging.

  5. Now I amm going to do my breakfast, afterward Һaving
    my breakfast coming ƴet agɑin to redad addsitional news.

  6. Excellent way of telling, and pleasant article to
    take facts concerning my presentation topic, which i am going to deliver in
    institution of higher education.

  7. If some one desires expert view regarding running a
    blog afterward i suggest him/her to go to see this website, Keep up the fastidious
    work.

  8. Every weekend i used to pay a visit this web page, as i want enjoyment,
    as this this web site conations truly fastidious funny stuff too.

Leave a Reply

