Holiday Monday

First day of freedom and Henry and I were up early ready to hit the local charity shops. I decided to leave my bank card at home, tucked $20 into my pocket, planning to call it a day when my twenty was gone. At the best SaveMart for fabric I found a pile of quilt bandanas, some corduroy for Henry’s next-winter trousers and a very pretty piece of silvery blue vintage damask fabric.

The next stop was the $2 Warehouse in Ferrymead where I bought a pile of clothes for chopping. Everything smells a bit weird here… thanks to the cracks in the floor and the liquefaction underneath but nothing a good wash won’t fix. The jerseys will soon be boleros and the floral fabric a dress for summer.

A spur-of-the-moment visit to a charity barn because Henry pleaded. He loves a good fossick but I always feel like I need to wash my hands after this place. Today, however, they had a huge box of patterns and I spent ages sifting through them while Henry ran up and down the mountain of clothes. It really is a mountain. Literally. Maybe this pattern with my silvery damask?

But treasure of the day must surely be these:

Hidden in a box of cutlery, 12 pieces for my last $2. Along with 11 forks for the picnic basket, a pair of Radiant Golden Age Rustless shears. By Richards of Sheffield in England. The gold plating is well worn but the blades whispered through my thinnest gossamer silk like it wasn’t even there. Not a snag in sight, just a perfectly straight line cut in the fabric. For the grand sum I think of about 16 cents. Definitely worth getting out of bed for.

2 Comments

Filed under Henry, Sewing, Thrifting

2 responses to “Holiday Monday

  1. Lovely finds – and lovely to see you blogging a little again. You’ve been missed.

  2. Deb

    You always get such good finds!!! Well done!

Leave a Reply

