Where I Am.

“Wherever you are is the entry point.” Kabir

Which is something of a relief because otherwise I’d be wittering on for pages, pedalling excuses about where I’ve been and why. Or worse still, sitting here trying to come up with stories and finding nothing but blank. Not even one story. Just big gaps where the words used to be.

Instead, a pretty picture. I had a small class of totally dedicated technologists this year in amongst my big classes of vaguely disinterested technologists. We collaborated on some pretty cool stuff. They are all off to different high schools this year and they are all carrying on with their technology studies. So I made them each something to remember our year by.

I guess they could use them as a pretty yet practical way to store pins. It’s more likely, though, that they will remember the slightly risqué song I taught them to sing when creativity turned to custard and then stab their venom into the pillow.

It’s been a rather hideous end to the year. But that’s where I am at the moment.

9 Comments

Filed under School

9 responses to “Where I Am.

  1. It is so nice to “see” you.

  2. Evil Gym Mom

    Teehee – voodoo dolls, Floss style! Like it .
    How’s the weather down there? Better than last year? It’s stunning clear blue hot up here…

  3. Deb

    Hey good to see you. Yeah you have had a rough year down there and it’s still going on from what I see on the news up here. 2011 has to be a better year for you and the South Island. Thinking of you often.

  4. What a thoughtful gift. Can you share the slightly risque song with us?

  5. Anotheroneopens

    Lovely to see you back- I always meant to contact you and tell you how much I enjoyed your blog as we seem to do the same job. I ended up doing IT as well!
    I found you a while back on a search for Middle School and Textiles. Lesson planning inspiration! However- I am now happily retired but I still sew for pleasure and have contact with my middle school and former colleagues. Have a good New Year – enjoy your teaching-the best job in the world (except for the paperwork) or is NZ not as bad as the UK for that aspect?

  6. Welcome back! Happy New Year – I hope 2011 is kinder to you than the end of 2010.

  7. i have MISSED you. been a very vague bloggeur meself. and i wanna know what the song is. my silliest moment was seeing some girlies designing a cupcake for their apron pocket when i was babysitting their class, and it made me think of Mr Whippy (the ice cream truck man, you know?) and so i said…. “how does mr whippy go to the toilet?” and then i did a wee demo X

  8. Pingback: Happy Colours. | Paradise Lost

  9. Pingback: Pincushions | Paradise Lost

Leave a Reply

