Old Skirts.

I bought this linen skirt because a) I love linen b) I love the green and c) Untouched World for $2… well who wouldn’t? I was never going to wear it as a skirt but I was convinced there was enough fabric in that baby to make a tunic. I carefully unpicked the whole thing, saved the zip, the buttons and, of course, the label.  

I trawled my stash for patterns and finally decided on a no-sleeve version of Simplicity 4220. I’ve used this pattern before and it’s great… quite fitted and no zips or buttons to worry about. From then on, it became an exercise in mathematics. Tesselations in fact as I tried to squeeze all of the tunic pieces onto my medium-sized skirt. It would have been so much easier to run down to Spotlight and buy the right amount of fabric but where’s the fun in that? I always seem to be trying to make clothes out of practically nothing, twisting, tweaking, scrimping an inch here, scraping a seam allowance there. I blame my Year 10 textiles teacher who said it was impossible to make a long-sleeved shirt out of 1.5m of fabric. She was wrong. I could and I did.  And I’ve been under-buying suggested fabric amounts ever since.

I had enough green linen for the waistband but decided on a floral scrap instead. There was less than a fat quarter but I managed to use it for facings, extra-long ties and the hem. I feel a bit like one of the Merry Men in this colour but ‘colour’ is my word for the year and it’s a nice change from the endless black I’m seeing in store windows.

6 Comments

Filed under Making, Thrifting

6 responses to “Old Skirts.

  1. Unbelievable – I cannot believe you pulled that off. Looks fabulous and beautifully tailored. Grrrrrreat job.

  2. Steph

    Very impressive juggling of fabric and a lovely end result.

  3. I think Untouched World might be asking for it back again to sell as a top. It looks great.

  4. OMG! I can’t believe how clever you are!! You turn the most ordinary into the most amazing! Wish I had your talent!
    Carole 🙂

  5. oooh, I love this. the colour, the pattern and the whole mentality behind it 🙂

  6. Rod

    Hiya! I simply want to give a huge thumbs up for the good information you have got right here on this post. I shall be coming back to your weblog for more soon.

Leave a Reply

