Rhubarb.

We are inundated with beautiful pink and red stalks. Not that I’m complaining, I love the stuff. There has been lots of rhubarb syrup making… I quadruple this recipe and store it in pretty cut glass bottles. Henry is a dab hand at the Ruby Jan which is his kids version of SouleMama’s Ruby June. He mixes some syrup and some fresh-squeezed lemon juice with Schweppes sparkling lemonade and pours it over ice. Truly fabulous.

I get the rhubarb pulp leftover after he’s dripped the syrup  mixture through a sieve. ( It’s like jelly making, don’t be tempted to press the pulp in the sieve to try and get more juice out, you’ll just get a solid grey layer at the bottom of the bottle.) I mix it with apple, cover with a crumble topping and bake.  Or add it to raspberry jelly and evapourated milk to make great fruit foam. We eat half  and then freeze the rest for the yummiest rhubarb and raspberry ice cream in town. The recipes are up top.

4 Comments

Filed under Cooking

4 responses to “Rhubarb.

  1. fiandneez

    I love rhubarb! Aways thought it was a winter crop, but my mother-in-law recently gave me some, so it shows how much I know about gardening. Looking forward to seeing those recipes.

  2. Your new blog is so lovely. The photos come up so well and everything is so clean looking. I can see why you switched to wordpress. I’d be tempted myself if I weren’t so “energy efficient” (lazy)

  3. So pleased to find your blog back! I grow rhubarb too , can’t wait for those recipes. Maybe my kids will like it!? I’ll still make it though.

  4. Duuude…it looks awesome! I LOVE your new header! I am seriously being tempted to switch to wordpress now…if I had the faintest idea how to import it all over. :p

Leave a Reply

