For Miss M, With Love.

Henry’s class have a student teacher at the moment and she’s been ‘dreamy’. (Not my word!) She wears the cutest op-shopped outfits, sings a lot and enthusiastically climbed mountains on school camp. Whimsical is the word I would probably use. I think she looks just like a sweet, old-fashioned china doll with a porcelain complexion to match.

Henry wanted to make a gift for her because tomorrow is her last day so we threw some ideas around and came up with this upcycled bag.

20130404-182903.jpg
We used this tutorial pretty much word for word, just removed the batting and added a button loop and a cell phone pocket. The bag is made from an old jersey of my own, a floral curtain remnant and the leather handles off an op-shopped purse. It was tricky going at times because the woollen layers were very bulky but I used a walking foot and took it slowly.

20130404-183154.jpg
The leather handles might just be my favourite part. Or maybe the leather coat button? Or even the fact that there is new life for this comfy old jersey I have worn and loved for years. I am crazy about this whimsical little bag and can hardly bear to give it away, no matter how dreamy Miss M may be.

20130404-183356.jpg
So, as a consolation, I awarded myself Student of the Week and hung it in the Highlights frame so everyone could admire it for at least one more day.

1 Comment

Filed under Henry, Sewing

One response to “For Miss M, With Love.

  1. I love this! It hits at my heart strings, I come from a long line of teachers, my parents, aunts and uncles, and siblings! More specifically- they make up a whole conglomerate of “Miss M” “Mrs. M” “Mr. M” and “Ms. M” We have them all covered, LOL!

    The bag is gorgeous, I hope Miss M loved it!

    I have nominated you for the Liebster Award, swing by my blog and check it out!

Leave a Reply

